Menu Plan 3/20/14-3/26/14

I feel like it’s been a crazy week. It’s been a fun week, with lots going on, but not a productive getting things done sort of week. Surprisingly, we did follow our dinner plans almost to a T, just replacing the Bubble and Squeak with ‘pizza while helping someone move and leftovers for supper’ day. Lunches were a bit crazy with fewer leftovers than normal as I wasn’t completely calculating in having an extra person around for meals. Also, to my shock and dismay, we completely ran out of cheddar cheese this week, so my plan of throwing together some quesadillas  for one lunch turned into a slightly runny process of heating vinegar cheese between tortillas. (Thankfully it was as tasty as it was runny.)

Also, I got approximately none of my baking projects done this week (except, of course, irish soda bread). Sigh. I think they’re all just going on the back burner for now, and I’ll get to them when I get to them.

Dinners:

Social Event

Chicken Thighs (Something with lemon, maybe lemon basil chicken…) with potatoes and peas

Leftovers/Fridge Scrounging

Bubble and Squeak

Scampi with Sauteed Veggies and Pasta

Turkey Dumplings with Sauteed Cabbage

Cheesy Lentils with roasted carrots

Lunches:

I definitely need to start taking better note of what leftovers in the fridge need to be used up, and probably start using more freezer meals to supplement lacks in leftovers, instead of cooking up new food. I’ve had that feeling of simultaneously being overwhelmed with overly full fridge and freezers, while never having any leftovers to base a meal on when I go to look. Part of this is because I still have a large amount of fermented dairy sitting in my fridge, which doesn’t generally make a good dinner base. Still, I overall seem to need better food management lately.

Breakfasts:

Lots and lots of fermented dairy! We’ve been doing kefir smoothies most mornings anyway (except for using up some boxty batter, which was also taking over the fridge), so we’ll probably continue that, with the usual eggs and oatmeal for variety as needed.

Baking and Extras:

I need to bake bread and make fermented ginger carrots. Everything else is on hold for now.

Shopping List:

Not my shopping week, though Kroger has a few tempting sales, such as:

asparagus, .88/lb (Thursday through Sunday)

Ataulfo mangos, .50

chicken thighs, .99/lb (Hyvee has them for .88/lb, but nothing else of note.)

It’s also worth checking to see if the Izze bottles are included in the buy 5, get $5 off sale, as they’re not listed in the ad, but I’ve seen some reports that they’re included.

Aldi also has a couple of  good produce sales:

lemons, .79/lb

strawberries, .99/lb (I normally would only recommend buying organic strawberries, as they’re on the dirty dozen list, but sometimes when conventional strawberries get super cheap, I make an exception.)

 

Leave a Reply

